If you were arrested for driving while intoxicated, it's important that you know what to do next. The penalties for DWI in Texas are steep, and a first-time conviction could result in up to $2,000 in fines, incarceration, a 2-year driver's license suspension, and mandatory DWI education. Plus, having a DWI on your record could hurt your job chances and affect your personal life. To protect your future, do your part to defend your rights after a DWI arrest.
Get Legal Help Immediately
The singular most important thing to do after a DWI arrest is to contact your attorney. An experienced criminal defense lawyer can inform you of your rights and guide you through the DWI process so that you know what to expect each step of the way. DWI lawyers know what they're doing, and relying on legal help during this time can significantly increase your chances of achieving a favorable outcome for your case.
Document the Incident
While the events of your arrest are still fresh in your mind, write down notes about everything you can remember. Where did the arrest take place? What did the officer say? Were there any road hazards or weather issues that affected your driving? Where were you before the accident, and were there any witnesses there who can attest to your presence? Your attorney can help you go through the important aspects of your arrest and what led up to it in order to find the most important details that could be the foundation for your case.
Every little detail is important and these facts could later be used to defend your case. Your first court appearance will normally take place a few weeks after your arrest, though it could be sooner and it might take longer. Having your facts straight before this first appearance is crucial. Your attorney can help prepare you for this court date, though little can be done without crucial information about your incident, so write down everything before you forget.
Protect Your Driver's License
When you are arrested for driving intoxicated, your driver's license is immediately in danger. Keep an eye out for any information about court dates or hearings regarding your license. If you do not hear anything, you must reach out to schedule a hearing to defend your case. You will have only 15 days from the day of your arrest to defend your license or you risk it becoming revoked. Having an attorney on your side throughout this process can make it exponentially easier, especially in relation to the hearing.
If you were arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, our criminal defense lawyer can help you. The penalties for DWI convictions in Texas are serious, which is why it is important that you do what you can to protect your license and defend your freedom.
Contact the Law Office of Robert E. Luttrell III to get started.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment