There has been lots of talk in the media about the legalization of marijuana in the last few months in Texas and other states. Texas has only allowed the legalization of THC for medicinal use and the THC must be in a very low does. Cannabis products are considered low-THC if they contain at least 10% cannabidiol, but not more than 0.5% tetrahydrocannibinols. Only individuals with prescriptions may posses and use the low dose THC.
Texas does not have laws the specifically ban the growing of marijuana, however it is illegal. The penalty for growing marijuana can very greatly. The penalties are based on the weight of the marijuana and can very from six months in jail to life in prison.
Here is a list of charges and penalties for various amounts of weed:
- 2 oz or less: a misdemeanor charge with a penalty of up to 180 days incarceration and up to $2000 in fines
- 2 to 4 oz: a misdemeanor charge with a penalty of up to one year incarceration and up to $4,000 in fines
- 4 oz to 5 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of between 180 days and two years incarceration and up to $10,000 in fines.
- 5 to 50 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of two to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- 50 to 2000 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of two to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- More than 2000 lbs: a felony charge with a penalty of five to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000
As you can see the penalty can vary with the amount of marijuana that is being cultivated. If someone is caught growing marijuana they will need an experienced attorney on their side. If someone you know is caught growing marijuana seek out an experienced criminal attorney like the Law Office of Robert E. Luttrell III.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment